Quick Links
2016 Rank Requirements
Advancement Board of Review Protocols
Camping Equipment Checklist
Health Forms (AHMR):  
Parts A, B, C
Check Member Status
Uniform Patch Illustrations
Youth Protection Training:  
My.Scouting Logon to Training
Check Member Status
Like us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Our YouTube Video Home Page Our Flickr Photostream Sets See us on Instagram
1. 12/01/03, Eagle COH, Max Treece & Frank Adams.
2. 06/17/97, BVI sailing, Princess of Tides (Max Treece captain), Len Fiume & Brian Schlenker
3. 06/18/00, Royal Gorge rafting, Owen Koch, Julian Love, Marshall Koch, Zeke Johnston, Rob Sellers, Ryan Taylor.
4. 07/07/98, Tooth of Time from Stockade, crew 627-J-1 (Julian Love advisor), Derek McGarry in foreground.
5. 06/30/03, Baldy Mtn. with crew 626-G-2 (Glenn Holladay advisor) approaching Miranda, Brian Schonder, Mark Loring, Robby Buddo, David Inscoe, Drew Gray, Matt Walker, Alex Barnes in foreground.
6. 08/28/10. Scuba diving.  Hunter Ives.
7. 07/24/91, Camp Grimes flag ceremony, Neal Brincefield, Andy Brincefield, Derek McGarry.
8. 07/18/04, Camp Grimes troop photo.
Troop 116 Advancement and Awards
Frank Mayhew Jr. Patrol Leader Award

Frank Mayhew Jr. Memorial Recognition
[Scout Emblem]

Frank Mayhew Jr. was a Patrol Leader in Troop 116 and well on his way to becoming an Eagle Scout under Scoutmaster John DeLind. The two held each other in the highest regard, as Frank was always enthusiastic about his Scouting experiences and loved camping and the outdoors. He lived his everyday life by the principles of the Scout Oath and Law and consistently demonstrated the qualities of leadership that he learned in Scouting.

On September 3, 1965, at age 14, having just made the football team at Quail Hollow Junior High School, Frank was on his way to football practice when he lost his life in a tragic car accident. Three friends' lives were also lost in this freak crash that greatly saddened the entire community.

The Frank Mayhew Jr. Memorial Scout Hut was dedicated in October 1972, and made possible with funds raised over a nine year period in the Frank Mayhew Jr. Memorial Fund. The Mayhew Scout Hut stood at the back of the church parking lot for 30 years and provided many benefits to the Troop during that time. A major church expansion project in 2002 required its removal, and a new Scout Hut was constructed in 2004.

The Frank Mayhew Jr. Patrol Leader Award was established in 1991 by Scoutmaster Julian Love, Frank's mother and four older sisters. It is one of the Troop's most prestigious awards and is presented annually to the Patrol Leader who best epitomizes the high ideals of Scouting that were so highly respected by Frank Mayhew. The recipient of this award has worked hard to plan and lead patrol activities, be consistent in his attendance of Troop activities, keep his patrol informed, know the needs of his patrol members and be helpful to them, and develop patrol spirit. He has been deemed by the Scoutmaster, the Senior Patrol Leader, and the other senior leadership Scouts to be an exemplary model to his patrol, and thereby to the entire Troop.

Derek McGarry
Ryan Prokay
Ivan Mothershead
Chase Ferree
Jack McKenzie
George Valaoras
Reid Weikel
Paul Rice
Ryan York
Tom McElwee
Kevin Baker
Mason Goodman
Phillip Sellers
Neal Brincefield
Owen Koch
Mason Gash
Zach Stroud
Jack McKenzie
Adam Stroud
Jack Hilton
Allen Nelson
Jeff Thompson
Brett Sallach
Dillon Parker
Landon Holbert
Logan Toliver
John Clark
Sam Spence
Ben Turnbull
Ben Hinson
Jackson Dunn
Charlie Odulio

Frank Mayhew Jr. Patrol Leader Award
One of the Troop's most prestigious awards
Plaque #1, from 1990 to 2005
Plaque #2, from 2005 to

Top Last Updated: December 3, 2018