Quick Links
2016 Rank Requirements
Advancement Board of Review Protocols
Camping Equipment Checklist
Health Forms (AHMR):  
Parts A, B, C
Check Member Status
Uniform Patch Illustrations
Youth Protection Training:  
My.Scouting Logon to Training
Check Member Status
Like us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Our YouTube Video Home Page Our Flickr Photostream Sets See us on Instagram
1. 12/01/03, Eagle COH, Max Treece & Frank Adams.
2. 06/17/97, BVI sailing, Princess of Tides (Max Treece captain), Len Fiume & Brian Schlenker
3. 06/18/00, Royal Gorge rafting, Owen Koch, Julian Love, Marshall Koch, Zeke Johnston, Rob Sellers, Ryan Taylor.
4. 07/07/98, Tooth of Time from Stockade, crew 627-J-1 (Julian Love advisor), Derek McGarry in foreground.
5. 06/30/03, Baldy Mtn. with crew 626-G-2 (Glenn Holladay advisor) approaching Miranda, Brian Schonder, Mark Loring, Robby Buddo, David Inscoe, Drew Gray, Matt Walker, Alex Barnes in foreground.
6. 08/28/10. Scuba diving.  Hunter Ives.
7. 07/24/91, Camp Grimes flag ceremony, Neal Brincefield, Andy Brincefield, Derek McGarry.
8. 07/18/04, Camp Grimes troop photo.
Troop 116 Advancement and Awards
Other Special Awards & Recognitions
[Scout Emblem]

The Silver Beaver Award is the highest recognition which may be awarded to Scouters within the juristiction of a local territory by the National Court of Honor, based upon research and nominations by the local council. The award is made for longtime outstanding and notworthy service of exceptional character to youth by registered Scouters. The Silver Beaver recipients are presented annually by action of the Council Executive Board after being selected by a volunteer panel from those nominations submitted. When thinking of a beaver, we think of an industrious builder who stays focused on a goal.
Troop 116 Silver Beaver Recipients

R. M. "Pat" Morgan 1980
M. Homer Monson 1982
Don E. Irwin 1988
Francis C. "Bo" Proctor, Jr. 1990
Max E. Treece 1994
Julian Love 1995
J. Wayne Inman 1998

The Order of the Arrow is Scouting's National Honor Society. The Vigil Honor is the Order's highest level of membership for a youth or adult Lodge member. The honor is bestowed upon an individual by special selection from a group of youth Vigil members within the Lodge and it recognizes exceptional service after a minimum of two years as a Brotherhood member. Those selected are advanced to the Vigil Honor after completing their Vigil.
Troop 116 OA Vigil Honor Members

Francis C. "Bo" Proctor, Jr. 1975
Julian Love 1992
Robert W. Kearley 1996
J. Wayne Inman 1997
Max E. Treece 2002
Samuel W. Spence 2003
Michael S. Baker 2007
Kevin B. Baker 2011

Wood Badge is the most advanced training program available to adult Scout leaders. It, and the related award, is recognized around the world and aims to make Scouters better leaders by teaching advanced leadership skills, and by creating a bond and commitment to the Scouting movement.

Courses generally have a combined classroom and practical outdoors-based phase followed by a Wood Badge ticket, also known as the project phase. By "working the ticket," participants put their newly gained experience into practice to attain ticket goals aiding the Scouting movement. The first Wood Badge training was organized by Francis "Skipper" Gidney and lectured at by Robert Baden-Powell and others at Gilwell Park (United Kingdom) in September 1919. Wood Badge training has since spread across the world with international variations.

Upon completion of the course, participants are awarded the Wood Badge beads to recognize significant achievement in leadership and direct service to young people. The pair of small wooden beads, one on each end of a leather thong (string), is worn around the neck as part of the Scout uniform. The beads are presented together with a taupe neckerchief bearing a tartan patch of the Maclaren clan, honoring William De Bois Maclaren, who donated the funding to purchase Gilwell Park in 1919. The neckerchief with the braided leather woggle (neckerchief slide) denotes the membership of the 1st Gilwell Scout Group or Gilwell Troop 1.

Troop 116 Wood Badgers

R. M. "Pat" Morgan  
Don E. Irwin  
Francis C. "Bo" Proctor, Jr. 1977
Max E. Treece 1985
Julian Love 1989
J. Wayne Inman 1993
Kevin M. Kearley 1993
Steven A. Muenow 1995
Daniel S. Gee 1997
J. Bradley Johnston 1997
R. Edward Gash 1999
Reginald G. Hargrove 1999
Albert V. Inscoe 1999
B. Garrison Ballenger 2001
Glenn C. Holladay 2001
Phillip M. Barnes 2002
James G. "Gil" Middlebrooks 2005
Michael S. Goodman 2008
David M. Fredenberg 2013
Scott A. Phillips 2014

Top Last Updated: December 5, 2018